Daily Archives: October 28, 2014

I guess that I can hold you By Brad Anderson

I guess that I can hold you one more time before you grow. And tell you that I love you so that you will always know. Please let me tie your shoe again. One day you’ll tie your own. And … Continue reading

Posted in Poetry | Tagged , , , | Comments Off on I guess that I can hold you By Brad Anderson

My Rose Never Faded By Lewis Beesinger

While walking through seventeen I picked a bright red rose. I was living wild and reckless it changed my life I suppose. A blue ribbon winner with its brilliant flare Its beauty was enchanting like a breath of mountain air. … Continue reading

Posted in Poetry | Tagged , , , | Comments Off on My Rose Never Faded By Lewis Beesinger

My Suburban Girl By Samuel Alfred Beadle

I know a sweet suburban girl, She’s witty, bright and brief; With dimples in her cheeks; and pearl In rubies set, for teeth. Beneath her glossy raven hair There beams the hazel eye, Bright as the star of evening there … Continue reading

Posted in Poetry | Tagged , , , | Comments Off on My Suburban Girl By Samuel Alfred Beadle

Love Arm’d By Aphra Behn

Love in Fantastique Triumph sat, Whilst bleeding Hearts around him flow’d, For whom Fresh pains he did create, And strange Tryanic power he show’d; From thy Bright Eyes he took his fire, Which round about, in sport he hurl’d; But … Continue reading

Posted in Poetry | Tagged , , , | Comments Off on Love Arm’d By Aphra Behn

Beautiful Dreamer by Stephen Foster

Beautiful dreamer, wake unto me, Starlight and dewdrops are waiting for thee; Sounds of the rude world heard in the day, Lull’d by the moonlight have all pass’d a way!   Beautiful dreamer, queen of my song, List while I … Continue reading

Posted in Poetry | Tagged , , , | Comments Off on Beautiful Dreamer by Stephen Foster

I Love Thee by Eliza Acton

I love thee, as I love the calm Of sweet, star-lighted hours! I love thee, as I love the balm Of early jes’mine flow’rs. I love thee, as I love the last Rich smile of fading day, Which lingereth, like … Continue reading

Posted in Poetry | Tagged , , , | Comments Off on I Love Thee by Eliza Acton

Love Is By Adrian Henri

Love is… Love is feeling cold in the back of vans Love is a fanclub with only two fans Love is walking holding paintstained hands Love is. Love is fish and chips on winter nights Love is blankets full of … Continue reading

Posted in Poetry | Tagged , , , | Comments Off on Love Is By Adrian Henri

Bright Star By John Keats

Bright star, would I were stedfast as thou art– Not in lone splendour hung aloft the night And watching, with eternal lids apart, Like nature’s patient, sleepless Eremite, The moving waters at their priestlike task Of pure ablution round earth’s … Continue reading

Posted in Poetry | Tagged , , , | Comments Off on Bright Star By John Keats

Wild Nights By Emily Dickinson

Wild nights! Wild nights! Were I with thee, Wild nights should be Our luxury! Futile the winds To a heart in port, Done with the compass, Done with the chart. Rowing in Eden! Ah! the sea! Might I but moor … Continue reading

Posted in Poetry | Tagged , , , | Comments Off on Wild Nights By Emily Dickinson

THE AWAKENING By Rumi

In the early dawn of happiness you gave me three kisses so that I would wake up to this moment of love I tried to remember in my heart what I’d dreamt about during the night before I became aware … Continue reading

Posted in Poetry | Tagged , , , | Comments Off on THE AWAKENING By Rumi

STAY CLOSE, MY HEART By Rumi

Stay close, my heart, to the one who knows your ways; Come into the shade of the tree that allays has fresh flowers. Don’t stroll idly through the bazaar of the perfume-markers: Stay in the shop of the sugar-seller. If … Continue reading

Posted in Poetry | Tagged , , , , | Comments Off on STAY CLOSE, MY HEART By Rumi

LOVE IS THE MASTER By Rumi

Love is the One who masters all things; I am mastered totally by Love. By my passion of love for Love I have ground sweet as sugar. O furious Wind, I am only a straw before you; How could I … Continue reading

Posted in Poetry | Tagged , , , | Comments Off on LOVE IS THE MASTER By Rumi

To His Coy Mistress By Andrew Marvell

Had we but world enough, and time, This coyness, Lady, were no crime. We would sit down and think which way To walk and pass our long love’s day. Thou by the Indian Ganges’ side Shouldst rubies find: I by … Continue reading

Posted in Poetry | Tagged , , , | Comments Off on To His Coy Mistress By Andrew Marvell