Daily Archives: October 17, 2014

Autumn By Helen Keller

Autumn Oh, what a glory doth the world put on These peerless, perfect autumn days There is a beautiful spirit of gladness everywhere, The wooded waysides are luminous with brightly painted leaves; The forest-trees with royal grace have donned Their … Continue reading

Posted in Poetry | Tagged , , ,

Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day? (Sonnet 18) By William Shakespeare

Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day? Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day? Thou art more lovely and more temperate. Rough winds do shake the darling buds of May, And summer’s lease hath all too short a … Continue reading

Posted in Poetry | Tagged , , ,

When Erin First Rose By Dr. William Drennan

When Erin First Rose When Erin first rose from the dark swelling flood, God bless’d the green island and saw it was good; The em’rald of Europe, it sparkled and shone, In the ring of the world the most precious … Continue reading

Posted in Poetry | Tagged , , ,

Remembered Joy

Remembered Joy By Anon Old Irish Funeral Poem Don’t grieve for me, for now I’m free! I follow the plan God laid for me. I saw His face, I heard His call, I took His hand and left it all… … Continue reading

Posted in Blogs And Blogging | Tagged , , , , ,

She Moved Through the Fair By Padraic Colum

She Moved Through the Fair My love said to me My mother won’t mind And me Father won’t slight you For your lack of kind Then she stepped away from me And this she did say It will not be … Continue reading

Posted in Poetry | Tagged , , ,

Ecce Puer By James Joyce

Ecce Puer Of the dark past A child is born; With joy and grief My heart is torn. Calm in his cradle The living lies. May love and mercy Unclose his eyes! Young life is breathed On the glass; The … Continue reading

Posted in Blogs And Blogging | Tagged , ,

Among School Children By W B Yeats

Among School Children I walk through the long schoolroom questioning; A kind old nun in a white hood replies; The children learn to cipher and to sing, To study reading-books and histories, To cut and sew, be neat in everything … Continue reading

Posted in Poetry, School | Tagged , , ,