Mother Quotes

mum2

In Honour Of Mother’s Day Here Are Some Mother Quotes:

A little girl, asked where her home was, replied, “where mother is.” ~Keith L. Brooks

Mother is the name for God in the lips and hearts of little children. ~William Makepeace Thackeray

How beautifully everything is arranged by Nature; as soon as a child enters the world, it finds a mother ready to take care of it. ~Jules Michelet

“A mother’s love for her child is like nothing else in the world. It knows no law, no pity, it dates all things and crushes down remorselessly all that stands in its path.”
―Agatha Christie,

Who fed me from her gentle breast
And hushed me in her arms to rest,
And on my cheek sweet kisses prest?
My Mother.~Anne Taylor

Mothers hold their children’s hands for a short while, but their hearts forever. ~Author Unknown

I love my mother as the trees love water and sunshine — she helps me grow, prosper, and reach great heights. ~Terri Guillemets

“Motherhood is a choice you make everyday, to put someone else’s happiness and well-being ahead of your own, to teach the hard lessons, to do the right thing even when you’re not sure what the right thing is…and to forgive yourself, over and over again, for doing everything wrong.”
―Donna Ball

One good mother is worth a hundred schoolmasters. ~George Herbert

A mother’s arms are made of tenderness and children sleep soundly in them. ~Victor Hugo

All that I am or ever hope to be, I owe to my angel Mother. ~Abraham Lincoln

God could not be everywhere, so he created mothers. ~Jewish Proverb

“I will look after you and I will look after anybody you say needs to be looked after, any way you say. I am here. I brought my whole self to you. I am your mother.”
―Maya Angelou

A mother is the truest friend we have, when trials heavy and sudden, fall upon us; when adversity takes the place of prosperity; when friends who rejoice with us in our sunshine desert us; when trouble thickens around us, still will she cling to us, and endeavor by her kind precepts and counsels to dissipate the clouds of darkness, and cause peace to return to our hearts. ~Washington Irving

Thou art thy mother’s glass, and she in thee
Calls back the lovely April of her prime.~William Shakespeare

The tie which links mother and child is of such pure and immaculate strength as to be never violated. ~Washington Irving

Mother — that was the bank where we deposited all our hurts and worries. ~T. DeWitt Talmage

Who ran to help me when I fell,
And would some pretty story tell,
Or kiss the place to make it well?
My mother.~Ann Taylor

A man’s work is from sun to sun, but a mother’s work is never done. ~Author Unknown

A mother’s heart is a patchwork of love. ~Author Unknown

Nothin’ ever seems the same
When Mother goes away!
The sun don’t shine so brightly;
The day seems long and gray!
The dishes all get dirty;
There’s no one who is gay
And full of fun and laughter
When Mother is away!~Gertrude Tooley Buckingham

A mother’s happiness is like a beacon, lighting up the future but reflected also on the past in the guise of fond memories. ~Honoré de Balzac

Because I feel that in the heavens above
The angels, whispering one to another,
Can find among their burning tears of love,
None so devotional as that of “Mother,”
Therefore, by that dear name I have long called you,
You who are more than mother unto me.
~Edgar Allan Poe

The formative period for building character for eternity is in the nursery. The mother is queen of that realm and sways a scepter more potent than that of kings or priests. ~Author Unknown

Mother is a name held sacred
By most mortals of the earth;
It means great love and sacrifice
From the very day of birth,
A love that’s so full of beauty,
So tender, so very true!
Something, seemingly, from Heaven
That has come to me and you.
There’s no love so understanding
And so faithful to the end
As a Mother’s love—God bless her!—
That to us our Lord did send. ~Gertrude Tooley Buckingham, “Mother”

Most of all the other beautiful things in life come by twos and threes, by dozens and hundreds. Plenty of roses, stars, sunsets, rainbows, brothers and sisters, aunts and cousins, comrades and friends — but only one mother in the whole world. ~Kate Douglas Wiggin

No one in the world can take the place of your mother. Right or wrong, from her viewpoint you are always right. She may scold you for little things, but never for the big ones. ~Harry Truman

“No one worries about you like your mother, and when she is gone, the world seems unsafe, things that happen unwieldy. You cannot turn to her anymore, and it changes your life forever. There is no one on earth who knew you from the day you were born; who knew why you cried, or when you’d had enough food; who knew exactly what to say when you were hurting; and who encouraged you to grow a good heart. When that layer goes, whatever is left of your childhood goes with her.”
―Adriana Trigiani,

My Mother’s hands, so thin and work-worn,
Were loved by me as jewels, rare,
For they had rocked me in my cradle,
And, lovingly, they’d stroked my hair.
They worked for me, both night and morning;
They helped to smooth away my fears,
For never were these dear hands idle;
I think of them with love and tears!
My Mother’s hands to me were precious:
I thought their beauty was sublime;
I felt no harm on earth could touch me
If they were near me all the time! ~Gertrude Tooley Buckingham, “

 

 

About Author Annette J Dunlea Irish Writer

Irish Writer Website: http://ajdunlea.webs.com/ Twitter: @adunlea Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/annettejdunleairishauthor
This entry was posted in Blogs And Blogging, Motivational, Poetry, Psychology, Quotes & Quotations, Writing & Writers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mother Quotes

  1. great quotes, and important topic. thanks!

    Like

Comments are closed.