Daily Archives: September 14, 2015

Pictures and Postcards By Peadar O’Donoghue

Mountains to mist, Beckett to boxer to blonde- platinum of course, looking me straight in the eye, over the slope of her shoulder. She says nothing, and a million things. not one can I catch as, like the accusations, I … Continue reading

Posted in Ireland, Poetry | Tagged , , ,

Platform eleven, Hoje Taastrup in early spring By Peadar O’Donoghue

Platform eleven, Hoje Taastrup in early spring. ‘“Did you ever say the words?” “Wait. I can’t hear you!” Woman leaving on lipstick red train, brunette, young, and beautiful, asking Old man. He’s dying, hands behind his back, unforgiving, and, like … Continue reading

Posted in Ireland, Poetry | Tagged , , , ,

Love’s Wantonness By Thomas Lodge

Love guards the roses of thy lips, And flies about them like a bee: If I approach, he forward skips, And if I kiss, he stingeth me. Love in thine eyes doth build his bower, And sleeps within their pretty … Continue reading

Posted in Poetry | Tagged , , ,

The Three States of Woman By Thomas Middleton

In a maiden-time profess’d, Then we say that life is bless’d; Tasting once the married life, Then we only praise the wife; There’s but one state more to try, Which makes women laugh or cry– Widow, widow: of these three … Continue reading

Posted in Poetry | Tagged , , ,

First Love By John Clare

I ne’er was struck before that hour With love so sudden and so sweet. Her face it bloomed like a sweet flower And stole my heart away complete. My face turned pale, a deadly pale. My legs refused to walk … Continue reading

Posted in Poetry | Tagged , , ,

Love By William Wordsworth

All Thoughts, all Passions, all Delights, Whatever stirs this mortal Frame, All are but Ministers of Love, And feed his sacred flame. Oft in my waking dreams do I Live o’er again that happy hour, When midway on the Mount … Continue reading

Posted in Poetry | Tagged , , ,