Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Award Goes To UCC LIbrarian John FitzGerald

Mr. John FitzGerald was announced recently as the winner 2014 Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Award. He is a English graduate of U.C.C. and the head academic librarian of the Boole Library. Its great for my alma mater U.C.C. and wonderful for this academic too. He was previously unpublished, what a debut John! I expect to see a lot more of his writing in print soon. Watch this man.

Fields By John FitzGerald

There’s a place on the ­Dublin-Cork line
where woodland opens out to fields within the wood
– two or three,
irregular in shape and ­secretive in their deep ­surround,
unperturbed by the sudden pulsing passing-by of trains.
And then they’ve gone.
I always seem to lift my eyes at just this point in the journey,
signalled by some animus of field and its possession of me since a child,
for all the fields I have traversed and loved and lost.

About Author Annette J Dunlea Irish Writer

Irish Writer Website: http://ajdunlea.webs.com/ Twitter: @adunlea Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/annettejdunleairishauthor
This entry was posted in Award, Ireland, Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.