Farmette – An Irish Farmer’s Wife Blog

Its informative,witty and an interesting female farmers diary.

http://marriedanirishfarmer.com/about-2/

Hi. I’m Imen. That’s me standing in the middle of the farm passage looking ridiculous holding a gooseberry jam & cream sponge cake topped with pretty nasturtium flowers. Not your average-ordinary day on the farm, but the shot was taken for a newspaper article, and since the former photo had me festooned in dirty dungarees while feeding our two donkeys, I figured why not splash out for a change….

In a former life, I spent my days working in television, film and advertising production while living in Minneapolis, New York and Los Angeles. Then, I met a dashing Irish farmer and life as I knew it changed forever….

{farmette} is a diary of my adventures in starting over from scratch, embarking on a second life where nearly everything that made up my former identity was replaced with a new set of circumstances complete with a pair of wellies and a whole lot of muck to trek through.

It is a blog about leaving behind a career, a city, a nation and a slew of family and friends when I fell in love with a man, a son, a farm, a country and its traditions….and perhaps most challenging: finding my way around a kitchen and becoming a home cook and baker in a world where traditional trumps quick and convenient.

If you fancy, you can read my weekly column, “Tales of A Modern Farmette”  in Irish Country Living/Irish Farmer’s Journal each Thursday.

