Bake by Rachel Allen

Bake is Rachel Allen’s hardback cookery book to accompany her current TV Series. It is published by Collins Press and its ISBN is 007259700. I watched her tv series and she has a pleasant manner and her instructions are very easy to follow. She has a no nonsense approach to baking. She says in her book there is no magic baking is all about using the right ingredients in the right quantities. Her book is beautifully laid out with clear instructions and pictures  to accompany the text. It is divided into 9 chapters clearly labelled. Included in this  book she has trouble shooting ideas, alternatives to use for recipes, step by step instructions to making various pastries and a list of kitchen utensils the cook needs. Amongst the sweet and savoury recipes she included lots of my favourites : eccles cakes, fairy cakes, swiss roll, Baked Alaska, chocolate cake, Quiche Lorraine, croissants, eclairs, cottage pie and doughnuts. I am passionate in life about two things my writing and my food and I loved this book. Reviewed by Annette Dunlea author of Always and Forever and The Honey Trap.

